A Buffalo, New York, resident was charged with drunk driving and fleeing the scene after causing an accident on Route 33. On Sunday, July 21, 2019 around 2:15 a.m., he crashed into another vehicle while driving the wrong way on a road, endangering the driver of the other car and himself. The operator of the car struck was taken to Erie County Medical Center for non-life-threatening injuries.
This is not the first instance of someone driving the wrong way on Route 33. In fact, a 2:00 a.m. crash last year led to a fatality. The roadway leads out of downtown Buffalo all the way to the Buffalo Niagara International Airport. The proximity to downtown bars may be a reason behind these late-night accidents and frequent reports of drunk driving.
A Driving While Intoxicated (DWI) criminal offense in New York State means the driver’s blood alcohol content (BAC) measures .08, or higher. When someone drives under the influence of drugs or alcohol, they are putting not only others’ lives at risk – but also their own life.
What are the penalties for drunk driving in New York State?
In New York State, the repercussions for drunk driving involve fines, revoked or suspended licenses and possible jail time. For a person’s first DWI, the punishment includes a fine of $500-$100, a maximum jail term of a year and a revoked license for a minimum of six months.
Subsequent DWI charges result in more serious punishments with longer maximum jail terms, a larger fine and a revoked, or even suspended, license for an increased period.
What can you do after a DWI charge?
After his recent DWI and fleeing the scene of an accident charges, the Buffalo, New York, man is likely exercising his right to legal representation. A DWI conviction brings severe consequences, including a temporary loss of driving privileges, monetary fines and a potential loss of freedom. To protect himself and preserve his liberties, it may be in the accused’s best interest to look at DWI defense options and educate himself on DWI criminal charges.